PDA

View Full Version : What is a "transfer"?

John in WI
08-12-2023, 03:36 PM
I just had to send a revolver back to the factory for repair or replacement. Did it legally, by contacting an FFL who will ship and receive it back.
I've never done this before, so I was asking the FFL some questions. I was under the impression that an NICS background check was required to receive the pistol back. He told me this was not the case--as long as the person who dropped it off (ie, me) is the same person to pick it up.
Is that correct? I'm just curious how it works.

TNsailorman
08-12-2023, 03:47 PM
You do not need an FFL to send a gun back to the factory for repair/replacement. You do not need to do another BATF form to receive it back. At least that was the way it was a couple of years ago when I had to send a revolver back to Ruger. I mailed it to them and they sent it back to my door.

pietro
08-12-2023, 03:48 PM

It depend upon both your state's laws (which may require such), and the fact that GCA-68 (US Federal Law) specifically states that anyone can send a firearm to an FFL-holder (which the factory holds) and receive back the same firearm for a repair or customization w/o having to go through another NICS check.

However, if said firearm is replaced (different serial number), then it may be sent for a NICS check.

https://www.atf.gov/firearms/qa/atf-form-4473-required-when-gunsmith-returns-repaired-firearm

Bmi48219
08-12-2023, 03:49 PM
Last time I sent a pistol back to the manufacturer for repair UPS picked it up at my home and returned it there too. I had to sign to receive it. Things may have changed in the past three years but as I understood it a transfer was only required if you were surrendering ownership to someone else.

M-Tecs
08-12-2023, 03:53 PM