PDA

View Full Version : Ruger Redhawk & hunting accuracy

Brl
02-11-2009, 06:27 PM
I've been shooting handguns for about 20 years now. However, I'm no competition class shooter. I do my part at the range several times a year. I mostly shoot (when handgunning) one of several .45 ACP's, my .38 snub carry gun and my Ruger Redhawk in .44 mag I hope to hunt with one day...I've been telling myself I'm going to hunt with that handgun for 15 years. Well, the other day at the range I shot that Ruger at 30 yards. I have usually shot it at 7 and 15 yards with all my other handgunning over the years and have been able to keep my shots inside the 9 ring with any factory ammo. I went to the 30 yard range because it was the only spot open. I couldn't even keep all my shots in the 8" target circle...even resting the strong hand on the table. Now, this hand gun has seen a lot of range time with me and I am very comfortable with this gun. I assume it's me and not the gun. Or, could it be the gun? Could it just be that I've not practiced at this range? What should be my next step to remedy this AND how should I be practicing at longer ranges? Any tips and suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks!!

9.3X62AL
02-11-2009, 06:59 PM
Brl--

Your concerns about hunting accuracy show you to be conscientious hunter and shooter. I have a Redhawk x 5.5", and any error my revolver makes at distance is entirely my doing. Mine is a well-dimensioned, good-shooting machine.

Some questions for ya--

Do the grips fit you well?

Are you careful to grip the revolver EXACTLY the same, shot to shot? Same grip tension, same hand location, same stance, EVERY TIME?

Is the recoil of this caliber beating you up? This induces both flinch and premature fatigue.

Is sight picture/sight alignment exactly the same, shot to shot? Properly aligned sights 1/4" off target center at time of firing will strike 1/4" off target--improperly aligned sights will shift ZIP Codes downrange.

DanWalker
02-11-2009, 09:07 PM