PDA

View Full Version : A bit off topic but

skeet028
02-11-2009, 05:10 PM
I have a Ceramic knife..nothing really great except it was a gift. How in the heck do you sharpen them?? Can they be sharpened? This thing has gotten pretty dull after a few years. Oh..BTW it is a thin Boker brand..nice thin pocket knife.

AZ-Stew
02-11-2009, 05:14 PM
If you can sharpen it at all, I'd think you'd need a diamond sharpening stone. Ceramic is extremely hard and very brittle. I work in the computer chip industry. We used to use reject ceramic IC packages as sharpening stones for our metal pocket knives. They didn't wear to any noticable degree and they put a fine hone on the knives. Maybe an internet search will turn up something for you.

Regards,

Stew

Ricochet
02-11-2009, 05:31 PM
Knap it like a flint?

klutz347
02-11-2009, 06:39 PM
I have a ceramic kitchen knife that I use only to cut vegetables. Its amazing how a bunch of carrots or celery can dull a knife. I got the ceramic just so i wouldn't have to sharpen.

Anyway, after quite a few years it dulled and I called the manufacturer about how to sharpen it. They told me to send it in and they would have to do it. They said that there wasn't a way, using conventional sharpening supplies to sharpen it.

I sent it off to them and about 10 days later I got my knife back, sharpened, free of charge (less shipping to them).

Call, write or email the manufacturer and see if they would do it.

carpetman
02-11-2009, 07:17 PM
before ww2 houses were wired with whats known as knob and tube. Romex wire replaced that. Time was my dad (an electrician) had a large supply of knobs and tubes he had purchased shortly before they became obsolete. Im told the tubes make a good knife sharpener and would like to locate two of these. Anybody have any?

docone31
02-11-2009, 08:35 PM