PDA

View Full Version : Casting w/ bottom pours??

Hootmix
06-25-2023, 12:45 PM
How far do most of you hold your mould below the pour spout, 3/8", 1/2", closer when using a bottom pour pot?

coffee's ready, Hootmix.

Winger Ed.
06-25-2023, 12:50 PM
I run the pot a little on the hot side and have the mold about 1/2" below the spout so I can see the sprue puddle.
I hold it tilted a little down at the front so if the puddle is going to run off the sprue plate, it will go away from me.

BLAHUT
06-25-2023, 02:00 PM
I start about 1/2" below and tilted then move up to touching. I run the pot on the hot side with pure lead.

Hootmix
06-25-2023, 02:20 PM
Think i'v been pouring too close to the spout. I have a older Master Caster, but use it 95% of the time w/ handheld DC moulds, running @ 710- 725 degs. w/ a PID controller . I like 9-11 BHN, w/ a bit of 60/40 solider for fill out for both my 40-60 & my 44-40 rifles. Most of the time i also tilt moulds to the front for run off. I built a tray to fit under the spout, now i need to lower it , thank you for the holler back.

coffee's ready, Hootmix.

sv44
06-25-2023, 02:35 PM
hootmix, can you tell me how your have set up your master caster to work with handheld molds?
thanks

Hootmix
06-25-2023, 09:06 PM
sv44, sent you a PM, and yes be glad to help.

coffee's ready, Hootmix.

imashooter2
06-25-2023, 09:52 PM
1/4 to 3/8 inch.

michael.birdsley
06-25-2023, 11:05 PM
I have the spout touch the chamfer on the spruce plate on my lee 4-20 bottom pour. something I found worked well while casting jigs for fishing and carried over to boolet making. it works for me

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Winger Ed.
06-25-2023, 11:11 PM
Think i'v been pouring too close to the spout.

Experiment and find what works best for you.... and for with which different mold .

As far as distance from the spout goes-- there's a reason it is shaped to pretty much to exactly fit