PDA

View Full Version : matching load data to commercial cast boolits

ChemGeek
04-23-2023, 08:47 PM
Hi all,

New member here and this is my first post.

I'm just getting into reloading. I'm interested in making some revolver ammunition using cast lead boolits from commercial sources (maybe someday in the future, I'll get into making my own). I'm looking to start with 38 special and 44 special for my S&W 66 and 29. I'm wanting to make rounds for target shooting and the much lower price of cast lead projectiles got my attention.

I have the Lyman Cast Bullet Handbook, 4th edition. I'm not sure how to cross-reference loads for commercial cast boolits to those broken down by mold in this book. According to some videos and reading, it sounds like looking for boolits with a similar "bearing surface" is a way to attack this, but I don't know how to quantify the bearing surface, or how to account for pressure differences even then.

As one example, I'm looking at this SWC from Missouri Bullet for 38 special:

https://missouribullet.com/details.php?prodId=52&category=5&secondary=9&keywords=

Page 256 of the Lyman guide shows load data for their 158 grain flat nose mold. They also have data for a 155 grain GC SWC, but that's 3 grains lighter than the boolit I'm looking at.

Is it safe to use the 158 grain flat nose bullet data from Lyman for the SWC boolit from Missouri Bullet? How sensitive are loads to the bullet weight, i.e. is that 3 grains of difference enough that I should not use the data for the 155 grain SWC? Finally, are there other reliable sources of load data for commercial cast lead boolits?

Thank you

Misery-Whip
04-23-2023, 09:46 PM
Welcome,