PDA

View Full Version : Fire forming virgin brass for bottleneck die setup - how stout?

huntinlever
02-18-2023, 02:23 PM
I've never done this particular process before but will be trying to set the shoulder back on my .338 brass and will be doing a run of 5 rounds on new Winchester .338 Magnum. I'll be using the RCBS Precision Mic and process learned from another member, and what I've been researching online.

The bullet is a Speer 200 grain Hot Cor, Rem 9 1/2 LRM primers. I have some Ramshot Hunter, and will also be picking up some IMR 4350 and 4831 next week. Per Lyman's 51st, I'd thought to use the Hunter, with 66.3-73.7 gr powder listed.

I'd thought just a minimum load would be adequate to get proper chamber fill for this purpose. I've since seen some say "moderate," and some recommending "pretty stout" load level, to get proper chamber fill.

For this purpose only - no load development yet, just fire forming a few cases to set sizing/expander die - what level load do you guys use?

huntinlever
02-18-2023, 04:01 PM
Mods, I'd forgotten I'd asked this question in another thread. Sorry for the redundant bandwidth. Please feel free to delete at your judgment.

pcmacd
02-20-2023, 11:02 PM
I've never done this particular process before but will be trying to set the shoulder back on my .338 brass and will be doing a run of 5 rounds on new Winchester .338 Magnum. I'll be using the RCBS Precision Mic and process learned from another member, and what I've been researching online.

The bullet is a Speer 200 grain Hot Cor, Rem 9 1/2 LRM primers. I have some Ramshot Hunter, and will also be picking up some IMR 4350 and 4831 next week. Per Lyman's 51st, I'd thought to use the Hunter, with 66.3-73.7 gr powder listed.

I'd thought just a minimum load would be adequate to get proper chamber fill for this purpose. I've since seen some say "moderate," and some recommending "pretty stout" load level, to get proper chamber fill.