View Full Version : 357 cartridge diameter issue - help please

magnumb
02-12-2023, 03:46 PM
While a long-time shooter I am pretty new to reloading. I am experiencing an issue reloading 357s (and 38s). I am using Missouri bullets 158 grain 357s. The measure exactly .358 diameter. I am using a roll crimp, at least for now. The roll crimp is set on a lyman die for about 3/4 a turn past where it would touch the case. I am seating the bullets about mid-point (maybe a tad bit higher) of the crimp groove.

The resulting reloads are just a little sticky (before firing) going into my S&W model 19. At things have it, after firing it can be very hard to rotate the cylinder, and have to use a brass rod to extract cartridges, even though they should not be over pressure. I bought a Hornady cartridge gauge, and they are just a little bit more snug going into it. I assume they should slide in the whole way with not extra assistance, and when inverted, just drop out.

Measuring the case diameter I was getting .378-.380. I went back and applied about another 1/4 turn of roll crimp, bringing then down to .377-.379.

The SAMMI case spec is .379, My gauge seems to measure .377, tighter than the max spec.

Measuring the components (the best I can) the boolit is .358, the brass wall thickness is .011 +.011. adding all this up we arrive at 0.380, which exceeds the .379 specification and definitely my .377 case gauge.

So that's my story, now for the help part.

1) What finished diameter should I expect to measure with a .358 dia boolit?

2) I also have a taper crimp in my lyman set. Can I re-crimp with the taper die to bring these in spec? I have about 50 rounds I would like to salvage if possible.

3) Is there something I might be doing wrong with my roll crimp? How high up the crimp groove should I seat, HOw many turns on the crimp die?

Appreciate the help from you experienced reloaders!

Marc

Ben
02-12-2023, 04:14 PM