PDA

View Full Version : Results of My Pedersoli 1874 Sharps 45-70

RSAPD
02-11-2023, 02:28 PM
I just started learning about BP and been working awhile on trying to figure things out and determine the best load. I think I have it pretty dialed in because of all the advice and input you all have given here. Yesterday, I shot a group at 2.8 inches at 200 yds and 2.25 inches at 330 yds. They were only 5 shot groups as I was testing loads but I think this shows the load is consistent. If anyone cares, this is what worked - 66gr Swiss 1.5 (weighed), 520gr bullet at .460 with .06 fiber wad, WLR primer. Wiped after each shot but still trying to learn this fouling control thing but it seems wiping does produce consistency after I've shot a few rounds. My first two shots were left.

barnabus
02-11-2023, 03:54 PM
I just started learning about BP and been working awhile on trying to figure things out and determine the best load. I think I have it pretty dialed in because of all the advice and input you all have given here. Yesterday, I shot a group at 2.8 inches at 200 yds and 2.25 inches at 330 yds. They were only 5 shot groups as I was testing loads but I think this shows the load is consistent. If anyone cares, this is what worked - 66gr Swiss 1.5 (weighed), 520gr bullet at .460 with .06 fiber wad, WLR primer. Wiped after each shot but still trying to learn this fouling control thing but it seems wiping does produce consistency after I've shot a few rounds. My first two shots were left.

im just waiting for ones who are gonna say you should have bought a shilo ...

country gent
02-11-2023, 04:08 PM
For quite awhile now the pedersolis have been known for their fine barrels.
What cases are you using? What is the alloy the bullets are cast from?

Sounds like your ready to go win some matches

dirtball
02-11-2023, 04:27 PM