PDA

View Full Version : Earthquake in Turkey

GregLaROCHE
02-09-2023, 11:11 PM
I’m no expert on concrete, but all the pictures I’ve seen, the buildings really seem to have crumbled into small pieces and dust. I remember the condominium in Florida that collapsed, but I don’t remember it looking the same. Is the concrete there not to other world standards?

dannyd
02-09-2023, 11:28 PM
When I was in Turkey nothing was up to World standards unless your taking Third World. It's a shame too because the people for the most part are very nice; their just stuck in a bad situation.

BLAHUT
02-10-2023, 12:04 AM
Cheap is how they roll, that's why it powders. Nothing will change, even with 20 some thousand dead and over 75 thousand wounded...

HWooldridge
02-10-2023, 12:27 AM
The quakes were nothing to sneeze at either, even for good construction, which it wasn’t. Friend of mine has family there but fortunately they live in the countryside.

dannyd
02-10-2023, 12:32 AM
The biggest earthquake I have done so far is a 3.4 and that was definitely an "E-Ride" about 2 o'clock in the morning. Unless you can Hover there's nothing to but hang on till it's over.

GregLaROCHE
02-10-2023, 12:33 AM
Do they simplify use less cement in the mix?

Recycled bullet
02-10-2023, 06:14 AM
I suspect that the root of the problem is cultural and that it may be common to find stupid crap like they used spray painted bamboo instead of rebar reinforcement then bribed the building code inspector to pass it and pocket the difference.

This reminds me of the Haiti earth quake where quarter million people died and over 300k were made homeless.

Then look at Chile where the earthquake was approximately 500 times more powerful and less than 600 people died. The real difference is in Chile they take building codes serious and if you are caught pulling that corrupt building inspector crap they nail you to the wall when it's your day in court.