PDA

View Full Version : .45 ACP for lefty

huntinlever
02-09-2023, 07:45 PM
I've no experience with semi-autos. Well, had a Glock G4 in 10mm, but sold it. Just prefer revolvers.

My son is a lefty interested in .45 ACP. We're planning a western trip so it would be a side carry, as well as personal defense/CC. I've looked a bit and he's interested in the S & W M & P II, .45 acp compact. His friend's parents were both detectives and this was their carry. But they were pro LEO's. Have to admit the lack of safety is a concern, for this dad, but then I have no knowledge here. Can anyone talk to how safe a trigger safety (as opposed to a slide or thumb safety, if I can find a dedicated LH gun) is, or more broadly, LH options in the caliber?

megasupermagnum
02-09-2023, 08:27 PM
I'm not aware of any LH only handguns. There are plenty of options for ambidextrous handguns. Some work better than others. Most SA/DA or DA only handguns are perfectly suited for LH shooting, the only thing to watch for is where the magazine release is if you have shorter fingers. Many have decockers, but I don't consider that an issue as I don't use them anyway, plus who has to decock quickly? Some have manual safeties, most don't. I vastly prefer a SA/DA without a safety. I don't know if any DA only guns have safeties, I'm sure there's one out there somewhere.