PDA

View Full Version : Detroit Welding Torch

Alstep
02-06-2023, 02:58 PM
I attended the Cabin Fever Expo a few weeks ago, a huge show dedicated to all kinds of model engineering projects.

A vendor there was demonstrating & selling a unique oxyacetylene torch. Welded up thin aluminum cans and cut 1/2" steel. I could never do what he did with my Victor torch. The cuts were clean and no slag. Not cheep, but looked like a very handy setup. Considering getting one.

Anybody here have any experience with it?

Here's their website; https://detroittorch.com/

DougGuy
02-06-2023, 03:14 PM
$649 for the torch kit really isn't bad at all for what I saw it doing. You would need regulators and hose, and of course filler metals and flux.

I have been a welder 50+yrs owned many torches and tips, still own and use several of them, as good with a torch as I am, that saw tooth cut he made with virtually zero slag got my attention. That exact cut in 3/8" or 1/2" plate whatever it was he was cutting is easy enough with a fine cutting tip for a PRO, and I mean someone who is really "gifted" with a torch, but for a novice to do that? Yeah.. I see!!

And that metal was already red hot, and a narrow cut less than 1/2" away from what he was cutting would be GUARANTEED to slag up and weld back together to be beaten apart with a chipping hammer and then have to be ground to clean it up. Very impressed.

abunaitoo
02-06-2023, 03:24 PM
That torch has been around forever under different names.
Dillion, Henrob come to mind.
It was always kind of expensive.
Always wanted to try one, but never had the chance.

elmacgyver0
02-06-2023, 04:08 PM
If I didn't already have all kinds of welding stuff, I would be all over it.

abunaitoo
02-07-2023, 01:00 AM
They do come up on evilbay, under the different brands names.

waksupi
02-07-2023, 11:25 AM
I attended the Cabin Fever Expo a few weeks ago, a huge show dedicated to all kinds of model engineering projects.