PDA

View Full Version : New vs old

Fifield92
01-28-2023, 06:28 PM
What's a better choice for quality and reliability, old tried and true lever guns (insert preferred manufacturer here) or trying my luck eventually with a new marlin or another manufacturer that's pumping them out today

Sent from my SM-G996U using Tapatalk

dverna
01-28-2023, 06:45 PM
My newest lever action is 20+ years old. They all work well. Even the pistol caliber carbines that are tweaked to run fast.

The "worst" one I had was an older .357 Rossi 92 clone. Just not as smooth as the others and I sold it. But plenty of people like the Rossi so either I got a bad one or I got spoiled with the higher end offerings.

I would steer clear of the Marlins made by Remington as reports are less than stellar but I have no first hand experience with them.

Shawlerbrook
01-28-2023, 06:50 PM
Wow, that’s a loaded( no pun intended) question. As far as metallurgy and computer generated parts a quality modern gun will win out. Problem is that quality isn’t as common as it used to be. The Japonese Winchester’s are well made, but just don’t have the traditional charisma as a pre-64 . The new Ruger made Marlins are getting great reviews, but I still like the originals. That said, many don’t. Henry makes some nice guns, but they just don’t have the feel as a Winchester or Marlin. I probably confused you more than when you asked, but it really does come down to that old Ford vs Chevy thing.

pworley1
01-28-2023, 07:16 PM
I am an old man and I like old guns. Most of those old guns were fairly new when I bought them years ago.

missionary5155
01-28-2023, 08:34 PM
A quality used lever gun is always 1st with us. Good barrel and function always outshines looks...
But some new made carbines are great Our Henry .41 Mag (under $600) shot our 1st load tried into a 1.5" cloverleaf at 50 yards. Functioned perfect with a WFN 265 FNGC and every cast except a WC. That one needed to be seated out to the 1st groove.

pietro