PDA

View Full Version : Question about drying cases after tumbling wet. biggie.

wallacem
01-25-2023, 12:42 PM
OK guys, need your advise. Best friend, just called me. He had wet tumbled 50 30-06 cases and put them in the oven to dry. Forgot to turn oven down and off, let them bake for over an hour at 350 degrees. Said they turned a darker color. Do you think they are ok or would that temp destroy the cases integrety. Wallacem inGa

phantom22
01-25-2023, 01:03 PM
I'm not an expert and I'm sure other will chime in, but they should be completely fine. People anneal cases at much higher temps than that. I don't think 350F is hot enough to anneal the cases and the dark color is likely from residue left over from the tumbling process. If anything I would think that it would make the cases closer to new (post-annealing) condition, but likely it hasn't done anything to them except darken them.

Silvercreek Farmer
01-25-2023, 01:36 PM
Not very scientific, but use a pair of pliers to crush a dark case, a non baked case, and see if you notice a difference.

Winger Ed.
01-25-2023, 02:39 PM
I've done that.
I just ran them in the polisher again so they'd look pretty.

When the 2nd .45ACP stowed away in a batch I washed, and cooked off in the oven-
All reloading activity was banned from the kitchen.
Now days, I lay wet brass out on a towel for a day or two for them to dry.

hoodat
01-25-2023, 02:55 PM
I absolutely don't trust anything except for the oven to dry my cases. I go 200 degrees for an hour, and know they're dry. jd

Sasquatch-1
01-25-2023, 03:04 PM
If you can crush the case fairly easy with your thumb and fingers, they are probably too soft.

As for drying, I take mine and separate the pins out and then dry tumble with lizard litter and New Finish for about an hour. Dries the cases and leave a slight protective coating.

atr
01-25-2023, 03:08 PM
I don't use the oven....I prefer to stay married!