View Full Version : Cast Hunting bullets

12-31-2022, 04:25 PM
Hello,

First
I’m new to Cast Boolits and just starting to cast bullets. Is there any particular design cast bullet that works best for hunting? There seems to be endless designs. Thanks

BLAHUT
12-31-2022, 04:37 PM
Large, heavy, flat nose, in pure lead.

Wheelguns 1961
12-31-2022, 04:41 PM
I like a WFN (wide flat nose). I also like a little heavy for caliber bullets. You will get a thousand different answers, and none will be wrong if they have been used to take game. Hollow points work good if the hp size matches the velocity.

OFFSHORE
12-31-2022, 05:02 PM
Agreed with above comments - wide flat nose and heavy for caliber boolits. I shoot a lot of magnum calibers/pressures and an alloy of 50/50 +1 (COWW / soft lead to pewter) in a 30:1 alloy works great for me and I am solely a hunter, but I demand benchrest accuracy. LOTS of trial and error in the cast bullet game, but it is very rewarding. Sit back, fasten your seatbelt, and enjoy the ride!!! Best of luck to you.

Winger Ed.
12-31-2022, 05:30 PM
Round nose and flat points are for serious killing.

Shot placement and accuracy is the biggie.
Get that right and any concerns about a few percentage points here or there in alloy mixtures,
or an extra 25 fps more or less will take care of them selves.

jaysouth
12-31-2022, 08:31 PM
What calibers and cartridges?

smoked turkey
01-01-2023, 12:23 AM