PDA

View Full Version : Stick Welding (SMAW) Advice Needed

justindad
12-27-2022, 05:39 PM
I’m looking into stick welding and need some advice. I’m completely new to this.
I was pretty good at acetylene welding auto body sheet steel when I was 17, and now 22 years later I’m considering a stick welder. The first thing I’m wondering about is safety precautions so I can keep feeding my three kids.
Purpose: I want to build a trailer frame with a 4-bar linkage that can mount a hand-operated earth auger. The 4-bar will be powered by a motor-driven hydraulic piston, or something similar. The trailer will mount to my riding lawn mower. Travel speed of the piston while digging will be slow - lifting the auger up to prevent the auger blade from screwing into the ground and getting stuck is more important.
I can design a strong frame and functioning machine, but I’m completely ignorant about welding the frame together.
The stick welder seems to be the most economical equipment set for welding 1/8”-1/4” steel From TSC. The cheap MIG welder from Harbor Freight has too many issues, but a stick welder is harder to goof up at the factory. I can get a quality MIG welder for $800 or a cheap, strong stick welder for $320. I will need a 40-50 amp 240V breaker in my garage, probably guarded by a lock box to keep curious kids away.
Any other thoughts or advice is greatly appreciated!

lancem
12-27-2022, 05:51 PM
I would recommend one of these: https://smile.amazon.com/MIG-140GS-Lift-TIG-Inverter-Compatible-Aluminum/dp/B08M6HWTG8/ref=sr_1_2?crid=1J5C9HXY5ER8G&keywords=140-Amp+MIG%2FMAG%2FLift-TIG%2FStick+Arc+Combo+Welder%2C+100%25+Duty+Cycle% 2C+Compatible+Spool+Gun+SPG15180+Weld+Aluminum&qid=1672177547&s=instant-video&sprefix=140-amp+mig%2Fmag%2Flift-tig%2Fstick+arc+combo+welder%2C+100%25+duty+cycle% 2C+compatible+spool+gun+spg15180+weld+aluminum%2Ci nstant-video%2C417&sr=1-2