PDA

View Full Version : Vintage woodworking tools.

Bazoo
12-26-2022, 09:53 PM
I am a carpenter by trade and use electric power tools out of necessity. But I have a keen interest in the old ways and have always collected antique or old style woodworking tools. Things like draw knife, chisels, brace, crank drills.

Currently I have a brace, a 4 Jack plane, a yankee drill (need a few more bits), a good drawknife.

I don’t have a large collection currently but I am always keeping an eye out for new additions. Things on my radar currently are a large gouge chisel 1-1/4 to 1-1/2 size. A block plain, and another Jack plane. Some bits for my hand brace. An egg beater drill. Oh, a spoke shave. And of course axes. I’m always checking yard sales for such.

Anyways I’m wondering if anyone else enjoys this hobby? Pictures of vintage tools always welcome.

Bazoo
12-26-2022, 09:59 PM
Here’s my Jack plane. It’s in process of being cleaned up.
https://i.postimg.cc/BQq6cryZ/9-FB2483-E-E4-DD-4-BB3-A2-EB-3-B543267053-E.jpg (https://postimg.cc/hh5cK5cN)

country gent
12-26-2022, 10:11 PM
I help several old farmers repair old barns learned mortise and tenon dowel joints. The last work bench I built was old school All mortise and tenon or doweled joints no nails screws or bolts. The only bolts are to hold the vises on. Also used wedges to tighten the mortise tenon joints before pinning them. Sometimes the old way is better.

Using the hand tools of the era is a real skill set to have, and offers more options on a project.

contender1
12-26-2022, 10:15 PM
Do you have any of the vintage Ruger hand tools?

Here's a pair of different Ruger Corporation hand drills.

https://i.postimg.cc/QC4JC4n1/Ruger-Drills-001.jpg (https://postimg.cc/V0tCHRwk)[

Sam Sackett
12-26-2022, 10:18 PM