PDA

View Full Version : How to tell if you have a leading issue?

Bitman
12-22-2022, 07:11 PM
New member here, did a search to no avail. I've been reloading for close to 50 years. But it's always been jacketed bullets.
I'm now loading cast bullets in two different 38-55's. I don't think I have a leading issue. If I load over 1400 FPS, I'm using gas checks.
But to be honest, I'm not sure how to tell if I'm getting a lead build up. Do I need a special cleaner to find out?
Thanks.

Dusty Bannister
12-22-2022, 07:26 PM
Here is a thread that might help you determine what you are looking for in the barrel of your firearms. Smears, streaks, or just a build up that affects accuracy are the basics. But there could be a very light antimony wash that shows at the muzzle that does not affect accuracy.

https://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?438069-When-was-the-last-time-you-had-to-remove-lead-from-a-barrel&highlight=leading

stubshaft
12-22-2022, 08:27 PM
A cheap endoscope will tell you immediately if you have leading.

Winger Ed.
12-22-2022, 08:55 PM
After you clean & dry the barrel, look down through the bore.
Leading will like like crud in the grooves that didn't come out with a normal cleaning.
The lead gets deposited sort of like a skid mark

Of the times it's happened to me, it gets worse and worse towards the muzzle.
I figure the lube is wearing off and the boolit is getting hotter the farther down the barrel it goes.

The faster you push a boolit, the more tendency you'll have for leading.
At your speeds and with a gas check, it really shouldn't be a problem if you're using a good lube.

megasupermagnum
12-23-2022, 12:14 AM