PDA

View Full Version : How to: replace seals on GDI fuel injectors using bullet sizers

megasupermagnum
10-22-2022, 05:13 PM
I wanted to share this info because it seems that so many people are just throwing money away on fuel injectors. I am not, and have never worked as an auto mechanic. I am a type of mechanic, but that's a discussion for another day. I always have, and always will do all of my own work on my cars and other equipment. Sorry for the long post, skip to the red section if you want the meat of the how-to.

Recently I had an issue with my 2012 Ford Focus which has a 2.0L standard gasoline engine. From what I understand these were commonly used in the Focus, both as an NA and turbo version. I can not confirm that the dimensions I will quote will translate to all GDI engines, however, I'm sure the same type of fuel injectors were used in a ton of engines. The problem I had was somewhat unrelated to this post, but long story short I had to pull the fuel rail, and one of the fuel injectors came with. For those who do not know, GDI injectors can not be reinserted without new seals. It's possible you could get away with it, but for what a pain it is to pull the manifold, I wouldn't want to.