PDA

View Full Version : Range is closed

stubshaft
09-16-2022, 08:15 PM
Well, the anti-gunners have won this round. About a month ago an alleged ricochet damaged a windshield on a vehicle at the local range. I say alleged because in my many years (38) of being a Range Safety Officer I have NEVER witnessed or heard of a bullet striking a vehicles windshield which was parked parallel to the enclosed firing line and under the eaves of said firing line! The incident received only a cursory investigation and the City and County decided that the berms of all north facing ranges would need to be remediated.

Remediation in this instance would be the removing and replacing of the dirt berms at all of the ranges. This was originally scheduled to begin in October of this year and take one month to complete. Truth be told anything that the City and County schedules is NEVER completed within the scheduled guideline. Prior to this remediation the ranges were restricted to .22 lr. ONLY.

I just received notice that the range is being closed IMMEDIATELY and will remain closed until remediation efforts are completed. The alleged reason is that all of the R/O's have exhibited lead in their bloodstream, which creates a "staffing issue".

The anti's have for years been dead set against having a public range and have tried numerous ploys to have it shut down. There have been spent bullets and jackets dropped in parking lots well over a mile away that needed to be "investigated". A teo and a half years ago the range needed to be shut down and the entire structure cleaned because of a claim that there were lead particulates on the range offices. There were claims of 50 BMG bullets striking houses over 3 miles away which mandated that the rifle range was shortened to 100 yards even though there is a 1200-foot-high crater between the range and the structure that was supposedly struck.