PDA

View Full Version : my first attempt at casting

RobP1
09-01-2022, 08:19 AM
This is my first attempt at casting bullets. I don't have an experienced caster to hold my hand so I'm basically fly by the seat of my pants here. What little I do know I've learned by reading this forum. I used my plumbers pot and propane stove and was constantly adjusting the temp. I did preheat the mold and at one time even had it to hot and the sprue took a while to set.I will use my Chromalox 50 from here on out because it holds a steady 730 degrees. I noticed some bullets came out shiny and most have a frosted look to them. What is the cause of this? Attached is a pic and any input is welcome. I need constructive criticism its the only way I've ever got better at anything. Thanks, Rob303802

Dusty Bannister
09-01-2022, 08:33 AM
Good job. And you must have a very clean "cut" from the sprue because many times that little bump will not allow a long bullet to stand on the base. Looks like well filled casting and no obvious creases in the bands to leak gas past the bullet. The reason you have a different surface appearance is due to temperature fluctuation of the melt, as you already noted. That is not a big issue until you are shooting long distances with rifle bullets. This is due to the presence of antimony in your alloy. The minor difference in appearance can indicate a slight fluctuation in bullet weight and size. For me at my skill level these days, it is meaningless.

Many of us started out as you have, but without the benefit of the internet and only what could be gleaned from books and magazines. You seem to have a good grasp on the basics and understand what you need to improve in the future. You should be proud of your efforts to this point. Now you can practice and have fun.

15meter
09-01-2022, 08:56 AM
And post where you live, there may be someone on here that is nearby that could help.