PDA

View Full Version : Muzzle Brake

blackthorn
08-23-2022, 09:50 PM
Had a phone call from my son this evening asking if I knew if muzzle brakes were all threaded the same so as to be interchangeable. He also wanted to know if there were some brakes that were quieter than others. I have no knowledge regarding either of his questions so here I am asking if any of you can answer his queries? Thanks.

M-Tecs
08-23-2022, 09:55 PM
No, they are not all the same thread sizes and yes they vary greatly in effectiveness and noise level.

https://www.projectgunner.com/muzzle-brake-threads/

https://www.americanprecisionarms.com/blogs/info/what-is-the-most-effective-muzzle-brake-design

https://www.thetruthaboutguns.com/a-beginners-guide-to-muzzle-brakes/

https://gundigest.com/gear-ammo/accessories/best-muzzle-brake-buyers-guide

https://precisionrifleblog.com/2015/07/17/muzzle-brake-recoil-reduction/

Winger Ed.
08-24-2022, 12:07 AM
Due to all the different sizes of barrels, the diameter and thread size will be all over the place.

Check out Brownell's.
They sell a bunch of them.
They'll list the specs. and have customer reviews on most of their stuff too.

Kosh75287
08-24-2022, 12:28 AM
I also don't think they are meant so much for noise suppression as muzzle flash suppression, and to redirect the exiting gasses in a way that does not disturb things around the muzzle and betray the shooter's position. If noise or recoil reduction happened as a result of the muzzle brakes, I suspect it was more incidental than by design.

M-Tecs
08-24-2022, 12:32 AM
I also don't think they are meant so much for noise suppression as muzzle flash suppression, and to redirect the exiting gasses in a way that does not disturb things around the muzzle and betray the shooter's position. If noise or recoil reduction happened as a result of the muzzle brakes, I suspect it was more incidental than by design.