PDA

View Full Version : Talk to me about rifle alloys.

Murphy
01-15-2006, 03:51 PM
Howdy Men,

I've been working with a Lyman 311041 mould for a couple of years now. I have not been fortunate enough to take any game with it just yet.

Now for the alloy question in regards to rifles.

I've been using a blend of 50/50 Lino & pure Lead for my 30/30 loads. I've driven them up to as high as 2,400 fps. I was using a now out of business lube maker's lube at the time. Paco's Apache Blue lube. I'm currently working on mixing up a batch of FWFL.

Using a solid version of the above mentioned bullet (Lyman's 311041), about what BHN hardness do most of you prefer?

I also have the Hollow Point version of this same bullet. I was fortunate to find it on Ebay last year and gave an arm and a leg for it. Any suggested alloy for using it at full throttle?

Respectfully,

Murphy

MT Gianni
01-15-2006, 10:32 PM
If the bullet fits the bore air cooled wheel weights are fine. If it doesn't it had better be as hard as j####ed. Gianni.

9.3X62AL
01-15-2006, 11:52 PM
Full agreement with Gianni here--fit is EVERYTHING, and all the metallurgy on earth can't compensate for loose boolits.

I don't drive cast boolits past 2000 FPS, and seldom past 1800 FPS for that matter--so Javelina alox/beeswax has been my lube for several years. I also use an equivalent of your Lino/lead 50/50 mix, AKA Taracorp alloy, AKA 92/6/2.

Buckshot
01-16-2006, 04:31 AM
..............If you're talking about using the slug for hunting then ACWW is great. That should carry you up to about 1800 fps or so. At what ranges would you contemplate using it at for hunting. Sights? Unless your possible anticipated ranges include 150 to 200 yards you don't need 2400 fps.