PDA

View Full Version : Lee C358-158 Gas Check mold

mtguy
01-28-2009, 12:10 PM
I'm looking into casting boolits for .38/.357 to be used in 4" barreled revolvers (GP100).

I see that the Lee C358-158 is a gas check design...my question is can this be loaded without the gas check for light to normal loads?

I want a versatile boolit i can load light for practice and also turn up the heat for hunting and defensive rounds.

I'm thinking the gas check would be good for the hot loads.

Also, i tumble lube my bullets and am wondering how to go about that process with gas checks if possible. I'm new to casting any any advice would be helpful.

And as far as gas checks themselves, how are they "installed" on the boolit? Any preferred manufacturers?

Spud
01-28-2009, 12:59 PM
Not sure I can answer all your questions, but this was the first mould I ever bought and used, back in @1984. Just about any GC boolit can be shot sans GC's. Whether you get the results you want only experimentation can tell. I used GC's almost exclusively, Hornady crimp-ons are what I used. You can probably tumble-lube, but you'll still have to run your boolits thru a sizer die of some kind to crimp the GC's when you use them. Lee moulds are cheap, why not get a regular base style, and a GC version? In the olden days I would install GC's with a piece of hard wood I fashioned into a tool, by hand on the bench, stand 'em up in melted lube in a pan, remove them from the lube with improvised "kake kutters" then pound them down a Lee sizer die. Slow, messy and inconvenient, but was raising kids, was low on dough and this method worked for many thousands of cast bullets, pistol and rifle. Got a couple of lubricators now, but you can do a lot with some pretty primitive equipment! Whatever, get to casting. It's an art, you know!