PDA

View Full Version : Bullet diameter for S&W model 52?

jeff423
01-28-2009, 08:03 AM
I'm just getting started in casting. My first effort will be for a S&W model 52. I seem to recall reading an article that said that the diameter should be something like .3563.
Does any one else cast for the 52 and if so how do you size your bullets?

I may be forced to slug the barrel.

Jeff

missionary5155
01-28-2009, 08:58 AM
Good morning
"Slugging the bore" is alsways the BEST route... My barrel/chamber probably was cut with a different tool on a different day so variances exist. The proper size cast boolit will always reflect the work with accuracy.
Are you Iced in ?
Mike God Bless you.

Willbird
01-28-2009, 09:42 AM
I do not know the bore size, but I DO know that the hollow based wadcutters that most folks used in them were .358 :-).

They are very strong guns, they can be loaded a LOT hotter than 38 special mid range, I know one pistolsmith that modified his mags to hold 6 rounds and used his with hot loaded full wadcutters (not hollow base) to shoot bowling pins. They not make the model 52 in 9x19 I believe ??

Bill

BruceB
01-28-2009, 10:33 AM
We've owned a pair of 52-1 pistols for almost forty years now(!).

The limiting factor for loads is the strength of the brass just above the web area. Get a wee bit raunchy with the loads, and it DOESN'T TAKE MUCH, and a very obvious swelling occurs where the case is unsupported over the ramp area. We've had no case blow-outs, but any increased-pressure load much above factory levels shows the bulging very early-on.