PDA

View Full Version : Is reloading a viable option for new low volume shooters?

lancem
08-07-2022, 10:32 PM
In my work crew I have several shooters that I would consider low volume. Mostly because they have kids and other more important things to consider. I've been reloading for almost 40 years, so my equipment is long paid for and needless to say I have free time. They want me to show them how to reload, no problem there, but what do you think, would they maybe be better off buying ammo and enjoying their range time or probably cutting their range time to zero in order to buy components, that are pretty much not available, and equipment? I will say it has been an enjoyable hobby for me and at this stage with the amount of shooting I have done, casting and reloading have made shooting a hobby I could afford that if I had to buy all of the ammo I have shot I probably would have never gotten to this stage. What do ya think?

ascast
08-07-2022, 10:48 PM
Where is the breakeven pointy? good question. I never loaded shotgun slugs as 5 at 50 cent to a dollar each would last a season or two. same with shot loads. I think you can calculate how many you shoot in a year, the cost difference and use that as a base line. I would certainly show them how to use a concentricity gage in either case as it can be used to selct good/bad factory rounds. I would show them and see what happens.

deltaenterprizes
Reloading components and equipment are are scarce at the present time so it , IMHO is not the best time to jump into the game.
If they can find components or if you are willing to part with some other your stash it would be a good time to teach them so in the future if things become available for reasonable prices they will know how and what to do.
Unfortunately there is always a reloader they quits because of many reasons and the equipment becomes available usually at reduced prices.