PDA

View Full Version : Trouble with Eastwood machine gray?

Guns&Engines
07-01-2022, 02:11 PM
I'm new to casting and powder coating, so I started off with lots of research. The top foolproof powder seemed to be Eastwood ford light blue, which works great for me. However, I wanted a more traditional looking color and found many people said Eastwood machine gray worked well. I'm using rubber maid #5 containers with air soft bbs to dry tumble, but can't get good coverage with the gray. See attached picture.

Any suggestions or should I give up on the machine gray?

1eyedjack
07-01-2022, 05:06 PM
Has this one been baked for 20 minutes at 400 degrees? Looks to be just coated & not baked yet, some colors have a lot of clear that don't look covered but after baking appear more covered
Some colors just do weird things and tumble lube designs become almost smooth after sizing

gpidaho
07-01-2022, 05:38 PM
G&Es In my own experience and I've been powder coating 10+ years Eastwood semi-gloss clear gives the best covering of any powder I've used and is very Shake N Bake friendly. That gives a natural "cast bullet look" I like to add a pinch of blue or green powder for an opaque look. Welcome to the forum! Gp

Guns&Engines
07-01-2022, 06:36 PM
Yes, the pictured bullet has been baked, about 5 minutes until they got up to 400 and the powder turned glossy, then 20 minutes more. I tried scratching the areas that didn't look covered, and they easily scratched with my fingernail, so not covered with clear in my opinion.

I was hesitant to go with clear powder for fear of being able to tell if the coverage was good.

Here's a bullet from the same casting batch, baked at the same time, with the ford light blue.

charlie b
07-01-2022, 08:33 PM
Try clear. I was skeptical because I could not really see the coating after baking. But, it worked REALLY well for me. It is also a tad thinner so not as hard to size.