PDA

View Full Version : Pedersoli rolling block help

Tazman1602
06-04-2022, 04:28 PM
OK, I’m showing my ignorance on rolling blocks probably. Scored a very nice Pedersoli a few months back and have ammo reloaded. Took it to the range today, cocked hammer, opened loading gate, thumbed in round……and extractor seemed to be in the way of it closing the block —- what am I missing? When loading gate opens, extractor follows it all the way back. I understand about the trigger safety when gate is opened but do I need to manually push the extractor to the chamber?

I have not looked at this very close yet but I have zero experience with this action and when it failed to chamber I had an absolutely wonderful afternoon pounding my shoulder with a (Miroku..) 1886 that really really liked my loads. Thought I’d ask before I tear into things….

Many Thanks,

Art

Nobade
06-04-2022, 04:38 PM
The round should not bypass the extractor when chambered, and when the block is closed the round and extractor will close together. If the case goes past the extractor you won't be able to close the block. Hopefully your rifle has the correct extractor in it.

Tazman1602
06-04-2022, 05:26 PM
The round should not bypass the extractor when chambered, and when the block is closed the round and extractor will close together. If the case goes past the extractor you won't be able to close the block. Hopefully your rifle has the correct extractor in it.

Thank you, just proved it. If I grab extractor and push it towards the chamber (it literally “flops” when chamber is opened and follows breechblock all the way back..) then load the round (a dummy) it closes perfectly. Not certain how normal that is as it’s my first rolling block. Very glad I’m over my affinity for hammers at this age…

Art

marlinman93
06-05-2022, 11:20 AM