PDA

View Full Version : reloading dies

oldbear1950
05-30-2022, 03:07 PM
I am fairly new to this reloading, but is my understanding, that a carbide sizing/depriming die, needs no oil, and can be used in conjunction with steel expanding die and steel seating die.
My question is , is that correct?

Three44s
05-30-2022, 03:38 PM
With a straight walled case you can pass on using lube.

I still do lube to reduce wear but it’s optional.

Three44s

Taterhead
05-30-2022, 04:35 PM
Correct, but many of us use a light spray of Hornady One Shot case lube when usimg carbide pistol dies to make the resizing process smoother. It does not need to be removed after sizing.

oldbear1950
06-01-2022, 11:25 PM
I was given a set of Bair 30-06 2 die set. Never heard of them, anybody know anything about them, how good they are, how do they compare to what is made today?

Iowa Fox
06-02-2022, 12:13 AM
If you don't lightly lube the cases sooner or later friction is going to start plastering brass on the carbide ring that will start scratching cases.

It comes right off with a Q-tip and bore solvent but its a pain.

Another one is the lever pulls about half as hard when the cases are lubed.

Walks
06-02-2022, 01:45 AM
Bair was one of those small reloading companies that was either bought out or folded in the 1960's. They did make good stuff. My Dad had a set of Bair .270Win dies that worked well for Him. They may have been bought out by Pacific, which was bought out by Hornady.

As long as the cases are dies are clean, you shouldn't have any problems. Disassemble the dies and Clean then thoroughly. Check for scratches and polish them out if practical. The sizing die will hopefully have a decapping rod with a expander ball. Any of the reloading co.'s will have die adjustment instructions on their websites. The cases will need to be lubricated before being sized.
You can buy a carbide sizing die in .30-06, for about $200. And you will still need to lubricated the cases.