PDA

View Full Version : New to the site, and new to the casting life! Trying to feed my Ross!

TheFlynn01
04-20-2022, 12:09 PM
Hello everyone! Thank you for taking the time to read this.

I am new to the game of casting and reloading. Have been reloading for less than a year, and brand new to casting. Green behind the ears. I have a love for historical fire arms and have had the luck of finding some old ones and fixing them up. Yet it is hard to feed them with some of their less than popular rounds haha. What has got me into this is a Ross Mark IIIB. Really good condition rifle, and the bore looks good to me, in my limited experience, but she shoots wide. I was using PPU 174 grain and I have heard that those are a bit small, around .311, when some of these war time 303 guns need around .312-.314ish, if my research is correct. So any help or advice would be grand! I am excited to be here and to learn from you all! :D

Thanks much!

Mike

farmbif
04-20-2022, 12:13 PM
welcome, yes, this is why Lyman makes the 314299 mould as well as the 311299

sundog
04-20-2022, 12:28 PM
NOE makes superb molds in 312299, 314299, and 316299. In my experience, they cast more consistently and closer to spec than a newer Lyman. An older Lyman or Ideal would also be 'mo betta' if in good condition.

A bore slug would help determine best size.

TheFlynn01
04-20-2022, 12:30 PM
Okay awesome so I have plenty of molds to choose from! How would I go about sluging the bore?

metricmonkeywrench
04-20-2022, 12:34 PM
Welcome to the madness, nothing to add to the Ross issue. if you poke around a bit there's several threads to the new folks that give good references and links to some of the site's folks favorite resources. my two personal go-to are:

http://www.lasc.us/articlesfryxell.htm
http://ps-2.kev009.com/ohland/Cast_Bullet/Ideal-Lyman_Molds/Ideal-Lyman_Mold_Descriptions.html

JoeJames
04-20-2022, 12:39 PM