PDA

View Full Version : Winchester 94 XTR in .444

Warhawk
01-22-2009, 12:23 AM
I asked this over on the Marlin forum, and thought I would ask here too.

One of my long time goals is about to be realized, I sent off the check today for a Winchester 94 XTR in .444. This gun is unfired, and I think it's going to be fed my handloads, exlusively.

I'm a big fan of the .44 caliber, and load for the .44 Special/Magnum. But I have no experience with the .444 at all. I'm looking for suggestions. I do load .45-70 for a pair of Marlins.

Anything specific to the Winchester .444 that I should know?

I have some Speer 270gr Gold Dots that I will probably use while breaking in the barrel. Then I plan to switch to cast and shoot heavy cast bullets. Any other bullet suggestions?

Is there a specific brand of brass that's best?

Dies? I like Lee collett dies, if they are available but I've never used them on a levergun caliber.

Dutch4122
01-22-2009, 09:31 AM
I have the Winchester "Black Shadow" with 20" barrel chambered in .444 Marlin.

Mine is one of the early production guns and came with 1 turn in 12 inch riflling that resembles 12 land micro-groove rifling. The lands & grooves are very smooth and consistant. This thing loves heavy boolits. So far I have shot 280 grn WFNGC's and 330 grn WFNGC's (2,050 fps chronographed) through this carbine and it shows a definate preference for the heavier slugs. I'll be working with 300 grn WFNGC's this spring and hope to get a hunting load worked up that will approach 2,200 fps with them.

Winchester/USRAC produced the .444 on the "Big Bore" frame in three models that I know of: Black Shadow, Timber Carbine, and XTR in that order. I have seen rates of twist quoted as 1 in 12, 1 in 20, and 1 in 25. Supposedly there are very early production run guns out there made with the 1 in 38 twist; but I have not seen one or personally talked to anybody who has one, so that may be an "internet rumor."