PDA

View Full Version : with a hotter mold cast smaller bullets?

Shadow9mm
02-26-2022, 08:19 PM
I feel like an idiot for asking this question, I apologies in advance. When things are heated they generally expand. But in what direction? would the entire mold expand outward from the center? or would each half of the mold expand towards the bullet making it smaller? if so how much? are we talking 0.0005 or less than that?

ryanmattes
02-26-2022, 08:40 PM
I'm not an expert.

But thinking about it logically, I don't think the mold expansion would be enough to notice. The lead temp, on the other hand, would have a much bigger impact. Cooling from liquid to solid is generally when the most obvious contraction occurs, so the hotter the lead, the more I would expect it to shrink as it cools. Likewise, the cooler the lead, the less shrinkage I would expect.

Anyway, that's my intuitive thought on the matter, but I could be completely wrong. Plenty of things don't make intuitive sense to me.

Sent from my Pixel 5a using Tapatalk

mehavey
02-26-2022, 08:54 PM
The hole in the mould expands within temp rise.
But hotter alloy shrinks more coming down from higher cast temps.

It's a race....

"In general"... I find cooler casting gains me a thousandth or so

Winger Ed.
02-26-2022, 09:33 PM
I heard a vicious rumor that depending on what additives are in your alloy-
they will cause different amounts of shrinkage too.

In my experience, the sizer die seemed to iron out whatever difference that was between
what the boolits dropped at, and what I wanted to to be.

JonB_in_Glencoe
02-26-2022, 09:47 PM
So, I have this one Lyman mold (410610).

When casting with a typical alloy like COWW at a typical temperature alloy (690º), and at a typical pace, where the boolits drop a dull grey, but not frosty, and have crisp sharp edges. Then boolits have a GC shank that's a wee bit large for the GC I want to install.