PDA

View Full Version : New to Forum

Old_Dog
01-18-2009, 01:10 PM
Just joined the forum after lurking around for a while.:coffeecom I have been casting boolits for a few years for my 44 (429421) and my 30-30 (311291) with some success. My lead supply consist of pure lead and Linotype. For the 44 in the past I have used straight lino and for the 30 I have used a 50/50 mix. Though for the last batch of 30s I added a ingot of 10% tin ( the only one I had) to the mix. My question is is what mix would you recommend using just pure lead and lino? I have just obtained molds for 38/357 (Lee 140 swc), 30 (Lee 113 gc), 45/70 (Lyman 457483) and 22 (Lyman 225415). I do plan on trying paper patching in the vary near future.

dromia
01-18-2009, 01:44 PM
Welcome aboard Old Dog :-D:drinks::-D

You don't say what velocities you are shooting at but anything up to around 1600 fps doesn't need to be too hard BHN 12 or so would do provided you have good boolit fit.

You don't need to add much tin to the mix, I would say 10% is a bit high. If I'm adding tin, and I only do this to aid fill out, then a smidgen say 1-2% does, any more doesn't seem to make much diffrence. If I want harder I'll water drop or heat treat.

Regarding your mix 50/50 seems a good starting point for all those calibres. Me I'd vary it depending on what was the easiest and cheapest to get. Where I am linotype is harder to get and dearer than lead so I'd be looking at a 60 - 40 or even a 70 - 30 lead to lino mix.

I like to keep my boolits a soft as circumstances will allow.

Matt_G
01-18-2009, 03:17 PM
Welcome!

It seems that alloy consistent with today's wheel weights is good for most applications. For low velocities, you can go even softer. Many folks here cut their WW alloy 50/50 with pure.