PDA

View Full Version : Need Help With A Stuck Case!

centershot
01-14-2022, 01:00 PM
I was sizing '06 cases a few days ago when one went in really tight. I pulled it out, thinking it didn't get properly lubed. I sprayed it again (Alcohol/Lanolin) and pushed it back into the sizer. It still went in tight, when I tried to remove it the shellholder pulled the rim off! "No worries!" I say to myself and got out the RCBS stuck case remover. Drill, tap, attach the puller - No Go! I pulled hard on that Allen wrench and even with a "cheater" extension on it, it wouldn't budge. At this point I was afraid I'd strip the threads in the case head. I'll add that I was a machinist fpr 22 years so D & T is nothing new to me, nor are stubborn fittings.

Plan B - Penetrating Oil
I put the die into a ziplock baggie and added enough PB Blaster to submerge the die. I put it under a heat lamp and let it sit overnight. The next day I tried to remove the case again. No good. I tried this three days in a row. Yesterday I used Kroil instead of Blaster, still no-go. Bear in mind, when I do this I have the die screwed into my press upside down with a vise-grip on the knurling of the die and the case puller on the top. I can put all kinds of torque on the puller, but nothing works. I've also tried tapping the case out with a steel rod down through the top of the die, nope.

Plan C - Freeze It and Torch It
Right now, the die is sitting on the top shelf of my freezer. Later today, I'll pull it out and use my propane torch to try to expand the die body a couple thousandth's and see if the case will release.

The lesson here is, when you use this case lube, you need to let the alcohol evaporate before you try to size the case. This lube has worked well for me in the past, this time I forgot that detail. My Bad!

If anyone has other ideas, I'm listening!

Polymath
01-14-2022, 01:22 PM
I have had a few like that too. I think it makes a metallurgical bond to the die.