PDA

View Full Version : Fair price to assemble a invest arms kit ?

RU shooter
01-09-2022, 05:02 PM
I’m not a professional smith but a local guy reached out to me on our local Facebook flint lock hunting page asking if I could assemble assemble a investarms hawken kit , I’ve built a number of flinters for myself from non inlet precarves and last one from a plank so I know this should be rather easy peasy. Sooooo in the groups opinion what would be a fair price for a simple assembly and finish job on the barrel and wood ?

Sixgun Symphony
01-09-2022, 05:09 PM
How much do you charge per hour for labor?

RU shooter
01-09-2022, 05:13 PM
How much do you charge per hour for labor?that’s my issue I don’t know I’m not a pro gunsmith I’m a sheet metal worker for my day job , never did gun work for anyone before . I’m fully confident I can do the work but again what’s a fair price

dondiego
01-09-2022, 06:47 PM
I have seen Traditions kits go for a couple of hundred less than the assembled rifle of the same model. It would depend on the number of hours that you think it will take to finish the kit.

Jim22
01-09-2022, 06:47 PM
I wouldn't do it. I have too many projects. And if something went wrong with the rifle it would be my umbrella policy.

Jim

redriverhunter
01-09-2022, 06:48 PM
I have friend who makes knives on the side. I asked to make me two knives. He made them for and never told me a price, he stated give me what you think they are worth. This put me in a bit of a mess too low and I would be a wrong. The how much time will you have spent and what is your time worth.

Electrod47
01-09-2022, 07:21 PM