PDA

View Full Version : 45-70 dies 3 piece set, who make the best??????

haff202
01-17-2009, 11:47 AM
I am new to reloading and just want to load for the 45-70. I have no equipment but do not want to load to load. If Iam going to reload then I might as well reload to best I can. As I make my list of supplies I need the dollar amount keeps growing. I do not want to buy something and have it break on me. Quality products only. WHAT IS THE BEST 3 PIECE 45-70 DIE SET OUT THERE??????

I saw a youtube video and the guy compared two die sets of the same caliber.

ddeaton
01-17-2009, 12:22 PM
I like Redding, but use all brands. Reddings are $$ though

August
01-17-2009, 09:14 PM
I have a Hornady set and am happy with it. In particular, the seating die has a bushing that drops down to guide lead bullets into place without much, in any, shaving of lead. The expander works well in this set also.

largom
01-17-2009, 09:26 PM
I mostly use Redding dies but for my 45-70 I use Hornady with a Lee factory crimp die.
LARRY

flutedchamber
01-17-2009, 09:35 PM
Well, it looks like you are getting replies from all corners of the manufacturing world. I have a set of RCBS which serves me very well. However I must say the set of dies that I work with are over 35 years old.

Lee makes excellent dies for a very reasonable price. If you are on a limited budget, or even if you aren't ...there isn't anything wrong with Lee dies. I own about a dozen sets and are extremely pleased with all of them.

e15cap
01-17-2009, 09:45 PM
Redding

R.C. Hatter
01-18-2009, 02:06 AM
I have loaded .45/70 cartridges since 1964, and I use a set of RCBS dies with
complete satisfaction, that I bought back then. I have four rifles in that caliber.
The dies are still in good condition. I've loaded many hundreds of rounds with them.

cajun shooter
01-18-2009, 08:32 AM