PDA

View Full Version : Boy do I need help !

John Crusher
12-07-2021, 09:06 PM
I just picked up my Palmetto.Garret rifle at Lee Shavers' after having him put on a Soule sight and I asked him if he could tell me my bore I.D.
Well, it's .460+-.001.
I understand I can shoot .458 cast through it fine, but for the life of me I can't find jacketed bullets in .461.
If I use hard cast .458 what would I need to add as far as a gas check if I load smokeless as I don't want gas flash ?
And, as I'm a total newbie when it comes to cast, I've reloaded Ks and Ks jacketed from 5.56 to 300 Win mag but stepping off into this is not in my wheelhouse !
Where can I get the info. to do this right ?

nvbirdman
12-07-2021, 09:15 PM
The first thing I would do is measure the bore myself.

country gent
12-07-2021, 09:20 PM
You can try hard cast but generally something softer works better in these rifles in 45-70 ( im assuming). In my 45-70s and 90 i normally use 20-1. Sized .001 above groove dia. Look at MVA for the softer bullets with correct BP lube to try.

cwtebay
12-07-2021, 09:28 PM
Is that a groove or land diameter? I'm with who suggested remeasurement.

Sent from my Pixel 5 using Tapatalk

John Crusher
12-08-2021, 12:12 AM
Well , I asked Lee about slugging the bore and he took it into the back and measured and said it was .460 +.
He's only been a gunsmith and a single shot GURU for 40 some odd years.
If you get a Sight for your single shot, I'd recommend one from him.

And yes, it is a 45/70.

trails4u
12-08-2021, 01:07 AM
So.......you're in a first name kinda relationship with the smith that built your rifle, but here asking questions about how to fit a bullet/boolit? What is his advice?

cwtebay
12-08-2021, 01:22 AM
Well , I asked Lee about slugging the bore and he took it into the back and measured and said it was .460 +.
He's only been a gunsmith and a single shot GURU for 40 some odd years.
If you get a Sight for your single shot, I'd recommend one from him.