PDA

View Full Version : Alloy for rifle boolits

hunter74
11-13-2021, 08:13 AM
I'm new to casting rifle boolits. I'm thinking about trying cast boolits in 223 Rem and 8x57 Mauser. I'm having a goal about 2500 fps for both calibers with Hi-Tek and GC if necessary. This way I'll get good training rounds with a decent trajectory.

Regarding alloy I'm not sure what would be the best to handle this velocity? Is Lyman #2 the best rifle alloy for this, or is it just a waist of tin compared to hardball or maybe another 2%sn alloy with even higher content of sb? I'm shooting both calibers from bolt guns som I'm not too conserned about brittle boolits breaking when feeding.

Thanks

Sent fra min YAL-L21 via Tapatalk

243winxb
11-13-2021, 08:38 AM
Hardball should produce a usable as cast diameter, before sizing. Both Hi-Tek and GC needed for 2500 fps.

Hick
11-13-2021, 09:35 PM
I use Lyman #2 for my rifles-- but have not tried going to 2500 fps. For what its worth, some cast bullets self-destruct if rotated faster than around 140,000 rpm. At 2500 fps you need the barrel twist to be larger than 1:13 to keep below 140,000 rpm. This is NOT a hard and fast rule-- lots of variables involved. The only way to know for sure is make the bullets and start raising the velocity and see if things go bad at some point.

Winger Ed.
11-13-2021, 11:17 PM
Lyman #2 is the go-to alloy.
All the boolit molds are calibrated for it to drop what they are supposed to weigh,
and what the powder/speeds/pressures data in the load books are obtained with.

It's one of those deals, where they pretty much got it all figured out.

Over the years, I've found out that me hacking around in the garage hasn't found anything new,
or better than what the folks with a ballistics lab. have already done and published--- a long time ago.

405grain
11-14-2021, 12:01 AM