PDA

View Full Version : Ruger SP-101, .327 Federal

exile
01-14-2009, 10:25 AM
I said earlier that I would give my impressions of this new gun and cartridge when I finally got out and shot it. I did last Friday. Here is a review of my thoughts on my blog. Please remember I am no expert, like I said, these are just my initial thoughts.

Harry O
01-14-2009, 11:50 AM
I read the Handloader magazine article about the .327 also. He is right that Rugers (particularly the Sp-101) have rough rifling.

I tried to speed up the .38 Special with soft-lead hollow-base wadcutters many years ago. My wife had just gotten an SP-101 in .38 Special (this was before they had them in .357 Mag). Anyway, I found that I had to keep the load in the SP-101 about 15% lower than in my other .38 Specials (S&W and Colt) in order to keep it from leading.

I also read the part about the gas checks raising pressure. The way I intrepreted that is that gas checks probably give the same pressure as jacketed. Lead gives less pressure. However, it was not clear.

I have not decided whether or not to get a .327 Magnum. I already have two .32 Mags, one a Ruger Single-Six and a S&W Model 631 Kitgun. They do what I need done in that caliber. I also had a S&W NewModel 16 in .32 Mag, but had it rechambered to 32-20. I load that one up higher than the .32 Mags, however, not as hot as the .327 is reported to be. I don't know how the .327 will turn out, but the 32-20 seems to prefer the 100gr Hornady XTP's to the 85gr XTP's when loaded hot.

exile
01-14-2009, 02:05 PM
Wow! That is one beautiful Smith and Wesson. I was happy with my SP-101, but...

exile

Harry O
01-14-2009, 08:58 PM
It is one of my most accurate handguns (every bit as accurate as my K-38 and K-22). I have loaded it up to as much as 1,250fps to 1,300fps. It is moderately loud, but no recoil to speak of. Most shooting is done at 1,150fps. That seems to be its sweetest spot.