PDA

View Full Version : Ladle molds?

dddddmorgan
10-24-2021, 12:44 PM
In my research I've seen the term "this mold really requires using a ladle" (in one form or another) quite a bit.

I've been casting for over twenty years and except for the pure lead round balls I cast for my black powder revolver I use an electric pot.

Can I get some of you folks to weigh in with your experience?

How do you quantify the "need" for ladle casting?

Thanks

kevin c
10-24-2021, 01:56 PM
Maybe pressure pouring is easier from a ladle? With a deep bottom pour pot, there might be several times more pressure from the column of lead over the spout than from the little bowl of a pouring ladle. I don't know if closing the valve more could compensate for that.

Sorry, I've only ever used a bottom pour; so just speculation on my part. Hopefully someone with first hand experience will reply.

dddddmorgan
10-24-2021, 02:51 PM
Well that's a good point I didn't think about. I can imagine that the "softer" pour of a ladle would make a difference on some molds.

I'm wondering how much alloy composition has a part in this discussion?

labradigger1
10-24-2021, 03:10 PM
I ladle cast only one bullet. I have a old lyman/ideal 225438 that will not cast a bullet unless ladled.

Dusty Bannister
10-24-2021, 03:42 PM
This may not be related to the OP's statement, but I have a 7 cavity gang mold that will not fit between the base and nozzle of a bottom pour pot. Due to weight and size, the ladle seems to be the only practical method of filling the cavities.

Minerat
10-24-2021, 04:07 PM
I ladle cast rifle bullets, i habe a 8 mm 225 lee that will not case good bullets from a bottom pour. I finally tried using a ladle and they come out every time once the mould reaches temp. I then try the bottom pour and they look like broomhildas face. Wrinkle like you won't believe. I think it is because the ladle pours faster in a larger stream so filling is better. May be the reason they are called ladle mounds.