PDA

View Full Version : Home made Sporting Clays cart

Patrick L
10-10-2021, 04:19 PM
This is not about casting, but we are all a resourceful bunch and I think we all enjoy seeing each other's clever money saving projects.

I started shooting sporting clays about 10-12 years ago, after a lifetime of skeet and bird hunting. While I liked the neat sporting clays carts some guys had, I was never going to pay $300-$400 for one. That's a lot of shells or components!

But then this appeared in someone's garbage. It's a jogging stroller.
https://i.imgur.com/LkVGV7Q.jpg

I removed a lot of the extraneous stuff like the canopy and the safety straps, most of which were just tied up out of the way. It wouldn't release to fold, so I flooded the mechanism with G96 to free it up. Now it folds! I cleaned up a lot of rust. The hand brake was completely out of adjustment, but that was easy to fix. I spent about $20 for some ATV gun mounts, and ended up with this
https://i.imgur.com/4YlXIre.jpg

Man that looks like a sporting clays cart!

The exposed muzzles made me uneasy
https://i.imgur.com/DNQTgqF.jpg

So I got two 2" rubber Fernco caps. I removed the clamps, and used black zip ties to secure them to the bottom gun mounts
https://i.imgur.com/pYHS6iC.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/xuOzOSe.jpg

About the only thing I'm still trying to do is salvage the cupholder tray that that went up by and between the handles. Right now I can put it on, but the guns lie right over where a drink would go. And while a cold drink or water bottle would be nice, more importantly there is a neat storage compartment that would be perfect for choke tubes etc. and that's the main reason I want to try to salvage that. I'll keep working on it.

Jack Stanley
10-10-2021, 05:53 PM
Well , there's always the "Bar buoy" holder like they use on boats to keep from spilling beverages . Probably can find one to clamp on the steel somewhere .

Jack

country gent
10-10-2021, 06:04 PM