PDA

View Full Version : hi all, newbie here, info for browning 71 to 50-100-450 wanted

hard88cast
07-24-2021, 07:59 PM
Hi all. Long time lurker first time joining and posting. little about me. My favorite firearms are my 86 win 45-70 and 45-90, both antiques, i reload both and have taken many whitetails with both but other then that I am a newbie to working on leverguns but have extensive experience in building and working on semi auto older military rifles.
I gold prospect here in Montana and find myself not being able to concentrate on my prospecting or just staying away from some of the best gold prospecting areas because of the ever present Grizzly population.
Of course I wear a pistol but that isnt the protection that makes me feel comfortable so I just purchased a browning model 71 in 348 that i would like to make into a 50-100-450 short rifle.
Would like to do 1/2 octagon barrel.

Cant seem to find dies at this time but sounds as if they are usually available.
This rifle is designed for a 50' and under shooter. Hoping for a moderate recoiling 500 gr slug at 1700-1800fps.
Anyway this is a project I have been thinking about for a long time but really dont know much about this process so any help and tips are much appreciated.
Looking for somewhat tech info on parts that need to be whittled down in order to make the case function properly.
I noticed back in 2019 John Taylor posted a little about this process but have been unable to contact him due to his inbox is full.
Thanks

thank you

indian joe
07-25-2021, 08:41 AM
Hi all. Long time lurker first time joining and posting. little about me. My favorite firearms are my 86 win 45-70 and 45-90, both antiques, i reload both and have taken many whitetails with both but other then that I am a newbie to working on leverguns but have extensive experience in building and working on semi auto older military rifles.