PDA

View Full Version : What is VPI paper or powder

helenajoe
01-05-2006, 04:19 AM
Hi everyone,

OK, I'm a beginner bullet caster and just obtained a 1979 NRA book called "Cast Bullets" by Col EH Harrison. Several times in his book, Col Harrison recommends to store cast bullet molds dry with VPI paper or powder --- but never says what VPI stands for.

Thus, does anyone know what VPI stands for and where I could obtain some of it?

If there's a better suggestion on how to store cast bullet molds to prevent rust, I'm all ears so please share your advice and suggestions.

Thanks,
helenajoe

utk
01-05-2006, 11:11 AM
VPI stand for "Vapor Phase Inhibitor". I think it gives off some kind of vapors that prevents rust from forming.
It is to be used in confined spaces, like inside a box or cabinet.
I bought a 50-pack of 1" squares from Midway long ago. Quite pricey, it would be very interesting to know if they can be "home-made"? Like a drop of oil on a piece of cloth? Does anybody know?
Sometimes tools or guns come wrapped in this kind of VPI-paper and I always save it and cut it into pieces to go inside mold and die boxes and the like.

Urban

kenjuudo
01-05-2006, 11:28 AM
Hi everyone,

OK, I'm a beginner bullet caster and just obtained a 1979 NRA book called "Cast Bullets" by Col EH Harrison. Several times in his book, Col Harrison recommends to store cast bullet molds dry with VPI paper or powder --- but never says what VPI stands for.

Thus, does anyone know what VPI stands for and where I could obtain some of it?

If there's a better suggestion on how to store cast bullet molds to prevent rust, I'm all ears so please share your advice and suggestions.

Thanks,
helenajoe

I trust oil, but if you want some VPI paper or plastic PM me your addy and I'll mail ya some for the postage.

jim

fourarmed
01-05-2006, 01:17 PM