PDA

View Full Version : AA#2 powder and the Lee Autodisc capacity chart

welderboy44
03-14-2021, 08:27 AM
I have the Lee autodisc on my Classic Turret press. Whenever I use a new powder I refer to the chart and it has always got me in the ballpark for correct grains dropped. I may have to move up or back a hole to fine tune. I bought AA#2 to try and wanted to drop 3.9-4.0 grains for my Lee TL 124 grain 9mm bullet. The chart says .32 disc drops 3.8 grains, it's actual drop was 3.1 grains. I had to move up 4 more holes to the .43 disc before it would finally drop 4.1 grains. The volume in my case was a little bit over half full. I verified the powder drop using two beam scales, RCBS and the Lee scale. I have never used this powder before and it concerns me that I was so far off of my disc after using the chart. I have used many different powders and this is the first time I have been this far off. Since I have no experience with this powder I am looking for advice. I did not load any bullets because of my uncertainty. Anyone with AA#2 experience could you please steer me in the correct direction. I have 6 other powders I could use at this time to load with, but I wanted to give AA#2 a shot. Thank you for any advice.

solderboy
03-14-2021, 01:54 PM
That doesn't seem too far off to me.
If the .32cc disk drops 3.1 gr, then Math will tell you that .43cc should be around 4.1 to 4.2 gr.

one thing I do to fine tune the disks, is to put a small bit of adhesive tape in the hole, to reduce the charge by .1 or .2
Varying the size of the tape will vary the charge reduced.

jim147
03-14-2021, 02:59 PM
Sounds like that powder is fluffier then when lee tested it who knows how many years ago.

onelight
03-14-2021, 03:13 PM
You should always go by what your scale says the Lee chart is just a guide , keep a log of what disk orifice you use for each charge weight with that powder and go by that in the future .

welderboy44
03-14-2021, 04:18 PM