PDA

View Full Version : Heeled Boolits.

beezapilot
03-08-2021, 03:36 PM
And so I've been gifted a Lyman 356637AQ, a heavily heeled 9mm projectile. While I've seen the boolit profile in the manuals and what not, this is my first time face to face with the beast. My BIG QUESTION is ... Why? Is there an advantage to heeled boolits outside of not having to bell the case mouths all that much? I was always given the guidance that a boolit should be pretty darn flat on the bottom and, should that be the correct way of doing business, this makes even less sense.

What am I missing?

Dusty Bannister
03-08-2021, 04:16 PM
As you can see when you look at the image of this bullet, it is a beveled base to shorten the bearing surface at the base of the bullet. This is to allow seating in the inside taper of the 9MM cartridge case without causing the case to be expanded at that point in the case and interfere with chambering.

beezapilot
03-08-2021, 04:24 PM
Ah! So the 124gr that I normally shoot don't go into the case as far as the much heavier 147gr to maintain OAL of cartridge! In the give and take of engineering that is what it takes for a thumper boolit! Gotcha and thank you!

GregLaROCHE
03-08-2021, 04:47 PM
Don’t forget that .22 rimfire are heeled. A heeled boolit can not accidentally be pushed further into the case.

gpidaho
03-08-2021, 04:54 PM