PDA

View Full Version : 30-06 cases tight in chamber

Jim P.
02-26-2021, 11:12 PM
I just started reloading 30-06 and I have a Rcbs JR3 press and I bought a set of Lyman All-American full length dies. I have a Lee shell holder. When I set my die, I raise the ram all the way up and screw the die down until it contacts the shell holder hard. After I size the cases and put them in my savage axis the bolt will barely close. It seems I need to bump the shoulder back a few more thousandths. Could I just grind a few thousandths off the end of the die to allow for setting it a little closer to the shell plate. I am a machinist so I would be using a precision grinding machine.

Three44s
02-26-2021, 11:39 PM
What does your rifle do with factory ammo? Have you tried a few brands?

Take a layer of cellophane tape over the head of an unfired factory load. Does that make your bolt tighten up some if there is no resistance with un altered factory loads (with tape)?

Do you have another brand of cases to size with your current handloading dies.

Are the cases that you are having trouble with fired from your Axis rifle or from another gun?

Bottom line: It could be the brass, the rifle or the dies or a combination of these.

I do a fair number of barrel swaps with Savage bolt guns and if your rifle has a rather short headspace you could ease up on it yourself.

Another thing to try before cutting on your sizing die is to use a black marking pen and color a well degreased but sized case. The bright marks will tell you where the bind is.

Good luck!

Three44s

Winger Ed.
02-26-2021, 11:42 PM
I'd draw all over one with a sharpie, chamber it, pull it out and see where it's dragging, and go from there.

Usually you don't have to set the die quite all the way down to hit the shell holder.
If the brass is from the same rifle, you often don't even have to size the whole case, just 1/4" or so down onto the neck.

M-Tecs
02-27-2021, 12:21 AM