PDA

View Full Version : Shallow Primer Pockets

cloverleaffrank
02-20-2021, 04:19 PM
Glad to be here guys, thank you for allowing me to join.
I’ve been reloading for over 35 years, tens of thousands of rounds under my belt but I am having a problem I’ve never encountered before. I’m having trouble trying to get my Primers Seated Flush in Both Commercial and Military.223/5.56 Once Fired Brass.
The primer Crimps have been removed. I use a Dillon Swedger /or a deburring bit.
The problem is the pockets are so darn shallow. .114- .116 on most of the federal 223 and some of the lake city 2016 2017. I have a primer pocket uniform tool, however I’ve never had to remove .006 of material from a primer pocket in 35 years of reloading. How did the factory even seat the primers??!!
I’ve used 4 different means of trying to seat them and 4 different brands of primers. It’s definitely a problem with the brass. Has anyone ever seen such a thing?? It’s gonna take a good while tocut the pockets on 3,000 or so pieces of brass.
Thank you In Advance

DCB
02-20-2021, 04:57 PM
I checked some of my Brass it Measures 0.1165 to 0.118 deep.
it sounds strange that Both 223 and 556 have the same problem??
Did you swedge both brass?
I just chanfer the primer pockets never did Swedge them.
what are you using to seat the primers?

daengmei
02-20-2021, 06:30 PM
Could the primer stem have been set too deep during initial removal? Could this even cause the outside edge of the pocket to move?

cloverleaffrank
02-20-2021, 06:36 PM
Yes, swedged all that are crimped both the Federal and the LC.
I have a Hornady Lock n Load , that wasn’t seating them. The I tried both my RCBS Hand primers also, and even my Rock Chucker. I’m at a loss here. All of my older brass is fine.
Just the most recent stuff I’ve been preparing.

cloverleaffrank
02-20-2021, 06:39 PM
Geeze Ooh !!!!! That may be it. I’m gonna check as soon as I get home.
I have to keep it set a bit lower whenever I size and deprime in the Lock and Load