PDA

View Full Version : Soldering past flux

bisley45
12-31-2005, 04:54 PM
can you use this to flux w-w for the first melting

powderburnerr
12-31-2005, 05:41 PM
soldering flux would probably be gone before it did much good it melts a lot lower than lead and then starts to burn when over heated . a cheap and easy smelting flux is a bit of motor oil . or beeswax or bullet lube oily sawdust lots of cheap stuff that works ............ Dean

Johnch
12-31-2005, 05:49 PM
I agree , Solder paste flux would be gone to soon .

I use DRY sawdust with some used oil mixed in . ( smokes a lot )

But any of the above listed will work good .
Just use them out side or in a WELL vented area

Johnch

bisley45
12-31-2005, 08:32 PM
thanks I will try the sawdust I am new at this casting thing so be patient thanks for all the help

BruceB
12-31-2005, 10:14 PM
Being an old dog like I am, it's pretty neat to report that a new-to-me technique works so well that I have actually CHANGED something in my routine!

Was it waksupi or Sundog who alerted me to this fluxing method? Or someone else? Dunno, but it sure works.

Just use a wooden dowel to stir the mix! This gets carbon right down into the extreme bottom of the melt very efficiently, and the bubbling action agitates the alloy, AND the dowel can also scrape crud from the sides and bottom of the pot at the same time.....plus, it even SMELLS better than almost any fluxing agent I've ever used!

I now keep several foot-long dowel pieces right handy to the furnace. I'm using 1/2"-diameter right now, but doubt that the size matters much. Try it, because it just may be the best fluxing method I've ever used.

drinks
01-01-2006, 12:59 AM
Soldering paste is an acid bearing compound, usually zinc chloride , it has no use in bullet casting, only on soldering solderable materials, most notably, copper plumbing fittings.
Whatever you do , do not use it on any electrical components or copper wire,

NVcurmudgeon
01-01-2006, 01:04 AM