PDA

View Full Version : 7-30 Waters and 7mm TCU early Contender handloads

Bloodhound689
01-28-2021, 06:51 PM
Not sure if this should be in this area or case forming but I recently picked up two contenders (7-30 Waters and 7mm-TCU). This will be my first attempt at case/fire forming and have noticed both cases size just fine (using LC 5.56 and Win 30-30 cases). Both cases chamber and lock up fine prior to seating the bullet. Once I seat the bullet however the round does not chamber all the way and gets stuck. Doesn't matter how deep I seat the bullets. Almost like the bullet stretches the neck to much. I did not use any crimp on the bullets.

I read on here that you should start with the sizing die a couple turns out (which I did). After trying to chamber a round that would not chamber I ran the sizing die down to the shell holder then backed off a half turn or so. 2 of the 5 chambered. I am using RCBS dies. What are your thoughts?

I have been loading for a few years. Always learning though.

daved63
01-28-2021, 07:21 PM
Are both calibers doing this? Did you measure the diameter of the neck once the bullet is seated? You should be able to measure and compare to the chamber specs to see if you are within tolerance.

Bloodhound689
01-28-2021, 07:33 PM
Yes, both calibers. The necks measure .003-.005 bigger then the ones that do chamber. I didn't measure the bullets prior to seating though.

Bloodhound689
01-28-2021, 07:35 PM
The bullets I am using are pulled 139g SP (brand unknown) from some reloaded rounds I received with the two contenders.

01-28-2021, 07:50 PM
Different brass manufacturers may have different thickness of brass at the neck. I know my .38-55 needs Win brass for jacketed and Star brass for cast. If trying other headstamps doesn't fix the problem, you may have to neck turn your brass. Easy enough, but just one more step to do.

Bloodhound689
01-28-2021, 07:54 PM