PDA

View Full Version : tv antenna

porthos
01-26-2021, 12:13 PM
tired of paying for cable. anyone use a antenna ; and are you happy with it, how many stations. one on the stations that i like is called "on demand" it allows me to watch programs that i had missed at a earlier date. what are your opinions?

marlin39a
01-26-2021, 12:19 PM
I was running an indoor antenna for awhile after ditching the dish. Picked up a few channels ok. I update my tv a couple months back, and get Pluto TV for free. Provided by my WiFi router. Numerous channels. So, I ditched the antenna.

hc18flyer
01-26-2021, 12:21 PM
I live in a much more rural area and still get 24 stations via antenna. I have good internet, so I can get anything I want, and only pay for that. I have Amazon Prime, but have only used it a couple of times. You might have to set a pole, or possibly a metal tower. I am a welder, so I made a 30' tower almost 40 years ago, been repainted and moved twice. Don't go cheap on an antenna. If you 'Google' antenna tv, you can put in your location and it will tell you what is available in your area. Tom

metricmonkeywrench
01-26-2021, 12:53 PM
Theres an FCC website that can show you what to expect. I still have my original antenna up on my workshop. Depending in the day/time/weather i will get a handful of the listed channels. The closer you are to the population centers the better off you are along with the associated terrain between you and the antenna.

This was all part of the drug deal made years ago when going to digital/HDTV, think it had to do with the Emergency Broadcast System. I sill have my 2 that the Govt paid for so that the "poor" could still receive over the air broadcasts that the networks are legally required to provide.

At least i can still have some of the 60's westerns and cop shows in the background while I'm out there working. I have to pass on the India, Korean and World news channels

https://www.fcc.gov/media/engineering/dtvmaps

MrWolf