PDA

View Full Version : New to reloading, just bought a "lot" of reloading equipment

corybrown50
01-18-2021, 02:01 PM
Hello all,

I am new to reloading and recently purchased a "lot" of equipment which included many items that I will not utilize.

A few questions:
I have a ton of brass in sizes I have no plan on using. 500S&W, 450, 357, 44.....I want to recover some of the $ out on the lot by selling the brass. Do you find an advantage to selling cleaned and deprimed versus just shot?

I also have boolits in the sizes above, and will need to forward those to future users of freedom seeds. Once I get to 30 posts, I will post in the swap area.

Is there a reason to keep the dies I for certain would never directly use?

Thank you

Winger Ed.
01-18-2021, 02:15 PM
Is there a reason to keep the dies I for certain would never directly use?

Not for me.
If I have enough of an odd caliber of brass to amount to much, or dies & molds I'll never use again-
I trade, sell off, or give it away.
Rather than have it in the way collecting dust and spider webs,
I like getting it back out in circulation to someone who will use and appreciate it.

As far as clean & processed vs. 'raw' or range brass prices--
check out the price differences the big guys sell surplus & range brass with dirt & grass still on it, or if its all processed and ready to load.
And read a bunch on the brass prices here on S&S. See what folks ask for it, and how soon it gets grabbed up.

Hint:
If it gets snatched up really, really quick,,, that tells ya the asking price was too low.

Then make a value judgement as to if you're willing to do the work to get the higher-ish price for processed stuff.

BigAlofPa.
01-18-2021, 02:17 PM
Keep everything IMO. You may find your self owning a firearm that shoots that round. But when i sell brass. I Decap and tumble it as a curtesy. Plus clean brass is easier for me to inspect for ruptures.

Old School Big Bore
01-18-2021, 02:19 PM